This Week In Smokes

I had some smokes…..not as many as last week, but then again I didn’t plan on smoking that many lol. I also went to a new B&M.

I was looking in my notes and it appears I didn’t smoke at all until Thanksgiving morning, I had 5 Vegas Triple A series, I read somewhere that your taste buds are at their best in the morning, so I had my 1st smoke that morning. I am not sure if this smoking in the morning is true or not, because I didn’t sense any difference in this smoke, it’s still great no matter when you smoke it.

I didn’t smoke again until the next day Friday, me and couple of friends went to a local B&M….my 1st time there, they are veterans. It is called the INDY CIGAR BAR and it was nice and they had a great humidor, and great customer service….they followed us into the humi and asked if there was anything they could help us with….we all politely declined their advance and he stepped out.

I thought they were a little pricey, but I saw a few sticks that I could easily purchased, but Marlon said he wanted to try something he hadn’t had before (which is not an easy feat, the dude has been smoking for 18 years) anyway he decided on a ZINO PLATINUM, and he bought for me and Alan, we went to the bar and they cut our cigars and even lit them…….this struck me as odd since that is considered a no no, noone but you should light your cigar….he even offered the lighter to me and I went to take it and Marlon said “No, you don’t touch the lighter.” See he was just offering me the lighter so I could lean into the flame and make sure I was lit all the way…..strange, but I went with this. This stick…..a single was $31!!!!!!

So, we smoked it and none of us were blown away, for that price the stick deserves it’s own blog….not so. I really enjoyed the aroma coming off the cigar……it just smelled like how a cigar should smell, I don’t know how to describe it, but I really enjoyed the aroma. It smoked fine, but again for $31 I should be really praising this stick. I’d give a 3 out of 5.

We went back to Marlon’s house and he gave me an Arturo Fuente God Of Fire…..his canister alone cost him $3k That’s an expensive smoke!!!! I really enjoyed, but the burn gave me problems, Marlon said he needs to open up the canister and let the moisture get to them. 4 out of 5

Next I had a Nat Sherman Churchill……oh man! This was a great cigar so many earthy flavors….wood, leather, oak……just so good…..best stick of the night easily. 5 out of 5

I didn’t smoke again until Sunday 11/27 again I went to Marlon’s and Alan presented me with my 3rd Cuban (so far) it was a Bolivar Habana Torpedo it was pretty good….nothing special 4 out of 5

Then Marlon surprised me with my 1st surprise of the evening, he said he went to a local B&M and bought me another Nat Sherman, this was a Hampton, it was more sweeter than the previous one, but I have to say again best stick of the night 5 out 5…..I NEED a box, my humi should not be without one.

My 2nd surprise of the night was a doozie, Alan and Marlon decided to initiate me into their little smoking club by giving me THE TRUNKADOR!!!!

Alan bought a $20 footlocker at Walmart and lined it with Spanish Cedar to make a humidor for his smokes, he passed it onto Marlon who had it for 8 years and now I am taking the reigns….truly an amazing Christmas present for me.

Marlon also gave me a box of his cheap cigars and Alan gave me his back issues of Cigar Aficionado’s.

4 thoughts on “This Week In Smokes

  1. Nice weekly roundup! Not a fan of the Zino?? Hmm. I’ve heard the construction is top notch. Haven’t been able to drop the bills on one. . . YET!! Looks like you’re a fan of Nat Sherman. Another brand I just haven’t made it around to trying. And, man, that footlocker is so awesome!! There should be room for 2 million cigars in there! ha ha. I may just run to the shop and snag a Sherman for tonight…

    -cheers!

    • I got one newbie…..psst he’s above you, and as for the morning taste thing, they say that’s when your taste buds are the most awake and by the evening they are tired lol.

    • Well the Zino’s construction was top notch and as was the aroma. The smoke itself was just……well kinda boring, I’m sorry for that price my socks should have been knocked off right?

      Oh yeah the Nats are AWESOME!!!!! I liked them both, let me know what you think when you try one…..thanks for reading.

  2. Not sure about that morning thing because your taste buds should only be able to taste that awful morning breathe…..lol. Great post buddy….you should be bringing in newbies by now.

Leave a Reply

