My Day At The Cigar Haven

Yesterday I traveled an hour to go to a cigar store, it’s called the Cigar Haven

I was meeting a couple of co-workers here, one had to bail because he forgot his daughter had a pool party, so his wife was taking her and he had to stay home with his son, no big deal.

I got there pretty early and this guy greets me at the door and starts licking my feet

That’s “Mouse” the stores mascot. So I’m greeted by Mike and Barb, Barb runs the place and has been there for years I’m told. Mike asks if there is anything he can help me with. I slowly sigh and tell him that I have been smoking cigars for about 3 years and I just started getting serious about it. I told him about the few cigars I have had and enjoyed and I ask to see a few cigars I have heard or read about.

Mike was awesome, he answered all my questions and didn’t even laugh. He showed me quite a few cigars and humidors and how to properly maintain them. He then showed me to the “Smokers Lounge” this was every man’s “Man cave” dream come true: There were 6 leather chairs, not lazyboys, but very similar…they didn’t recline, there were 2 barber shop chairs, a table, a PS3, a bar, fridge and a bathroom along with a tv in an entertainment center with about 50-60 dvd’s and dvd player.

The other room was for members only, sorry I forgot the name, I think it’s “Gene’s Cave” or something like that (Gene is the owner I found out) it had a big screen tv and about 6 chairs as well (not sure if they reclined ot not) a poker table and lockers that members get with their yearly fee….*ahem* $350.00.

Personally I thought the free room was bigger and better and an easier sale to the wife, lol.  So, back to Mike, I ask him to show me some lighters since I am not happy with my $5.99 lighter I got at the local gas station. He shows me about 3 different lighters and they ranged from $39.95 -$59.95…..yeah that was out my price range, I asked him if he had any lighters that had these features (torch instead of flame and punches included) just at half the cost. He smiled and pointed to a basket on the counter and said these are all $9.95 and the ones with punches included are $10.99….*BINGO! SCORE!*

I then asked Mike what he would recommend for my purchase today based on what I have smoked and liked. He showed me 4 different cigars and I settled on 2: Cao – La Traviata & Kristoff – Liristnnia…I have to say I loved the Kristoff and will def be getting more of them, they said they just came in and they had been waiting for a long time for them.

After I made my purchase I went into the lounge and sat back and chilled for a bit. My buddy showed up he went and purchased a cigar and he bought me a beer *Fat Tire*

W

We then proceeded to smoke and chat the afternoon away, it was a great relaxing time and I met some very nice and interesting people. I can definitely see myself going there once a month.

For those of you that don’t know what a punch is, watch below:

19 thoughts on “My Day At The Cigar Haven

    • LOL no, no, no that’s not me……heh that’s just a youtube vid I found on punches HA HA, sorry that’s funny to me.
      I quit smoking cigars when I was 27, I started when I was 7…..i’m 42 now….do the math lol. You can see what I look like in one of my early posts where I posted pics from my wedding.

  1. Hahahahha….oh crap, that’s freaking hilarious!!!! I will go stalk you now so I know what you really look like then, cause otherwise from now on, that guy is gonna be you in my head…forever.

  2. love the smell of cigars sounds like you had a real mans day out lol i wonder if theres a womens champayne n chocs room lol have you bought one of those end nipper things lol or do you bite the end off like those manly cowboys do hmm il shut up now lol have a great week xxjen

Leave a Reply

